EU revokes grants to six Polish cities as a consequence to their approach towards the LGBTIQ Community

The European Union denied to fund six cities in Poland that declared themselves to be LGBTIQ-free zones. Following the announcement on Thursday 30th July, the European Commission said they were affirming that the union stands for equality.

European Commissioner for Equality Helena Dalli, spoke about this issue on Twitter, where she said that the EU values and fundamental rights shall be respected by all Member States and state authorities.

The six cities, which have not been named yet, asked to join the EU’s twinning project which links different towns together to ‘guarantee peaceful relations’ and ‘reinforce mutual understanding and friendship’ between European citizens.

The President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, took to Twitter to state that the treaties in Europe ensure that every person in Europe is free to be who they are, live where they like and love who they want. She continued to say that she will continue to push for a Union of Equality.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s